Media Kit

Headshots

Photo credits: Ben Ehrensperger

DSC_4996
press to zoom
DSC_4888
press to zoom
DSC_4865
press to zoom
DSC_4994
press to zoom
DSC_4838-2
press to zoom
DSC_4791
press to zoom
DSC_4800
press to zoom
BT Website
press to zoom
DSC_4879
press to zoom
1/1

Official Bio

Bryn Turnbull is a writer of historical fiction with a penchant for fountain pens. Equipped with a master's of letters in creative writing from the University of St. Andrews, a master's of professional communication from Ryerson University (renaming in progress) and a bachelor's degree in English literature from McGill University, Bryn focuses on finding stories of women lost within the cracks of the historical record. She lives in Toronto.

 

The Woman Before Wallis was her first novel and became an international bestseller. Her second, The Last Grand Duchess, will be released on February 8, 2022.  

The Woman Before Wallis

17975623642413118
press to zoom
258C0439-BB7C-454A-8248-5C0F00C17889
press to zoom
DC3D23A9-E94B-4139-BDCD-2E14BF615599
press to zoom
E0F1FECD-528D-4AFF-99D3-C53AB63424E2
press to zoom
81wqaesRvSL
press to zoom
_edited
press to zoom
92A5A009-DE21-44DE-905D-9EC6C5A2C7EB
press to zoom
804DB810-6B67-41D7-AC1B-2EDBE10CFAA9
press to zoom
WBW
press to zoom
1/1

Synopsis

For fans of The Paris Wife and The Crown, this stunning debut novel tells the true story of the American divorcée who captured Prince Edward’s heart before he abdicated his throne for Wallis Simpson.

In the summer of 1926, when Thelma Morgan marries Viscount Duke Furness after a whirlwind romance, she’s immersed in a gilded world of extraordinary wealth and privilege. For Thelma, the daughter of an American diplomat, her new life as a member of the British aristocracy is like a fairy tale—even more so when her husband introduces her to Edward, Prince of Wales.

In a twist of fate, her marriage to Duke leads her to fall headlong into a love affair with Edward. But happiness is fleeting, and their love is threatened when Thelma’s sister, Gloria Morgan Vanderbilt, becomes embroiled in a scandal with far-reaching implications. As Thelma sails to New York to support Gloria, she leaves Edward in the hands of her trusted friend Wallis, never imagining the consequences that will follow.

Bryn Turnbull takes readers from the raucous glamour of the Paris Ritz and the French Riviera to the quiet, private corners of St. James’s Palace in this sweeping story of love, loyalty and betrayal.

The Last Grand Duchess

17936399965668544
press to zoom
17907017897029799
press to zoom
17914058962960935
press to zoom
17936399965668544
press to zoom
1/1

Synopsis

This sweeping novel takes readers behind palace walls to see the end of Imperial Russia through the eyes of Olga Nikolaevna Romanov, the first daughter of the last tsar 

Grand Duchess Olga Romanov comes of age amid a shifting tide for the great dynasties of Europe. But even as unrest simmers in the capital, Olga is content to live within the confines of the sheltered life her parents have built for her and her three sisters: hiding from the world on account of their mother’s ill health, their brother Alexei’s secret affliction, and rising controversy over Father Grigori Rasputin, the priest on whom the tsarina has come to rely. Olga’s only escape from the seclusion of Alexander Palace comes from the grand tea parties her aunt hosts amid the shadow court of Saint Petersburg—a world of opulent ballrooms, scandalous flirtation, and whispered conversation. 

But as war approaches, the palaces of Russia are transformed. Olga and her sisters trade their gowns for nursing habits, assisting in surgeries and tending to the wounded bodies and minds of Russia’s military officers. As troubling rumors about her parents trickle in from the front, Olga dares to hope that a budding romance might survive whatever the future may hold. But when tensions run high and supplies run low, the controversy over Rasputin grows into fiery protest, and calls for revolution threaten to end three hundred years of Romanov rule.

At turns glittering and harrowing, The Last Grand Duchess is a story about dynasty, duty, and love, but above all, it’s the story of a family who would choose devotion to each other over everything—including their lives.

Contact Links

Author Email: bryn@brynturnbull.com 

Press Inquiries/Requests: (USA) Lia Ferrone | (Canada) Rebecca Silver

Subsidiary Rights: Kevan Lyon